Showing posts with label Rant. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rant. Show all posts

Thursday, January 8, 2009

My MSN GOT HACKED!!¬

Geezz... i am so frustrated.

Somehow and somewhere, someone decided to hack into my MSN account and started talking crap to people in my contact list. I only found out about it after work when i started getting sms's from friends asking me if there is something wrong with me.

Been using it for over 4 years and now all my contacts is going to be lost just because some idiot decided to hack my account.

So pissed right now.

Any idea's how to get solve this problem?

I have tried the "forgot password" option but failed since i cannot remember my country of origin.

Anyone know how do i contact people from hotmail so I can try to resolve it that way?

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

The Malaysian Paranoia

A few friends called me yesterday to warn me of the impending tragedy that will befall us Malaysians. Apparently they have had reliable sources telling them that the government would announce a nationwide curfew in the coming days. I've been given advice to start stocking up on food and other essential items and to wait for the impending uncertainties.

My first impression - BULLSHIT!

To be honest, I don't understand the paranoia of people in this day in age. Have we not grown up as a matured society after 51 years of independence? Common, we Malaysian's are smarter then that. I am confident that most of us love peace rather then anything else right now.

Of course there will be the off few fanatics that would go all the way to disrupt this harmony BUT it does not represent the sentiments of most of us Malaysians.

If a curfew is really announced, then let us all laugh at the police since there won't be much mass rally or people burning houses and plundering supermarkets.


I SHALL NOT STOCK UP FOOD FOR THE IMPENDING SO CALLED "CRISIS"

I SHALL NOT SUBMIT TO BLATANT PARANOIA

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

Malaysian Standard Time

A time zone is a region of the Earth that has adopted the same standard time. We normally refer this to local time. Adjacent time zone are exactly one hour apart and hence why times are different from country to country.

Officially, Malaysia is GMT (Greenwich Meridian Time ) +8. However for many Malaysian this is not applicable as their time zone could be 30 minutes to even 1 hour behind GMT+8.

Here's a typical scenario to my point.

I got an invitation to a wedding not too long ago with this written on it.

Arrival of Guest : 7.00pm
Arrival of Bride and Groom : 7.30pm


But when you apply Malaysian Time its actually like this

Arrival of Guest : 7.40pm

Arrival of Bride and Groom : 8.30pm


I have yet to attend a Chinese wedding that starts on time. If for any odd reason a wedding did start on time, then I think we have all witnessed a miracle. We shall all dance naked and gold bars will be falling from heavens to greet us. Its not out of the ordinary to see a few groups already half drunk when the first dish is served. The only reason why I see some people coming early would be family members that are worried about parking spots.


Here's another good example of Malaysian timekeeping.

Called a friend and told her I would be picking her up at 4pm. Just to be on the safe side, I reminded her again half an hour before coming. Reached her house at 4pm but apparently she is still changing. 4.15pm and she is still putting up make-up. We ended up leaving at 4.30pm. I waiting half and hour in the car twiddling my thumb doing nothing and occasionally staring at random people that walked by my car from 4pm to 4.30pm that day.

So folks, that's Malaysian time for you.

A small country but with people living in various timezones.

Malaysia Boleh!

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Dato Tin Kosong

Warning : This is going to be a slightly boring long post

3 days ago, a suppose to be high ranking government officer who carries the title Dato' came to my practice. The moment he came in he asked my staff for THE best glasses that we have. My staff not used to people like that then got me out to handle this Dato' personally.

He then introduced himself as Dato' X, A Deputy Director for one of the Ministries (I shall not say the Ministry he is in here) in Malaysia. I then showed him a pair of frames that cost around 1K+. He didn't look very impressed and asked me to guess how much his glasses was worth. I had a look at it and saw a GS engraving on the frame. Never heard of such a brand before so I just said I would not want to speculate. He then told me its worth 3K. I just smiled at him and told him a small town like mine can't afford selling 3k frames to the general public. Anyway, he had a few look at my frames and out of the blue asked me to repair his frames which apparently was a bit bent and loose. I got one of my staff to repair it while I "entertain" the Dato' further. He finally found the frame that he wanted and I proceeded to invite him to my sight test room for further examination. Apparently he was in a rush and said that he would come in the next day to have his eyes tested. Upon leaving he insisted that I follow him to his car (which was parked really nearby) to get his namecard. Probably I gave him the "I don't care" look and did not treat him like a dignitary so he wanted to show me his credentials on paper.

Anyways, I walked with him towards his car. While walking I wondered what kind of Merc or BMW he might be driving and both of us stop in front of a Proton Perdana Executive. He then introduced me to his car! I was like.... huh? You got a Proton Perdana and you are proud of it? Good thing I am only driving my Vios which was incidentally parked opposite his. If I was driving a BMW I would definitely then tell him "nice car Dato, by the way, the car over there is mine". Now that would have been really interesting.

The namecard he gave me does confirm him being an Assistant Director of a GLC company linked to a prominent ministry in Malaysia.

I did have a short conversation with him and to sum it up, this Dato' is a total walking ego trip. I think his best line was and I quote

"Its not easy to manage Malaysia" - I was like, WHAT??!! Your only a bloody Assistant Director of a GLC company providing a service for a Ministry in Malaysia. When at any point are you managing the country??!!

I made a bet with my staff that this Dato' would not be coming back cause I suspect that he only wanted his frames adjusted and made up the whole story that he wanted a pair of new glasses. To my surprise, the Dato' really came back the next day. But now here's the catch, he came in saying he wanted glasses and then told me that the frame I adjusted for him (for FREE) yesterday was still a bit loose.

After me doing the necessary adjustments on the frame and also me refracting his eyes, he then told me if I accept cheque. Knowing that his glasses won't be ready that soon, I told him we would take cheque if he pays for everything today. He nodded and told me he would give me a cheque the next day. I was bloody pissed at that point. I was thinking, is there anyone on earth that goes to buy anything without bringing any money (and the fact that he knows roughly how much it would cost from his first visit yesterday) ?? I then told him that we accept credit card but he replied that he don't have any credit card with him. I was totally flabbergasted.

Safe to say I won't be getting any cheque from this Dato' Tin Kosong as it has been 2 days and I have yet to see his face. Good thing I never did the order for him even though he insisted that the glasses be ready in 4 days time.

Lets see if I am right on this one.



P.S To those that don't know what is Tin Kosong, its Malay meaning empty can. We all know that empty can when hit sounds the loudest but there is actually nothing inside.

Monday, June 16, 2008

Forward this or be damned in hell!!


I received a mail today depicting a pair of Hindu Gods. Apparently unless I do not forwards the mail to at least 20 people, I would be cursed and damned to hell (exaggerating a bit lah but you know what I mean). I've been plagued with similar mails on a weekly basis for years. Never once had I forwarded any of them. I guess by doing so, I should have been hit by a truck and died (mati katak) a gazillion times over but sad to say I am still alive and kicking.

Sometimes it baffles me why people bother with chain mails. Are we really that naive to believe in all those crap feed to us in the mail?

Not too long ago, I did rant about this to some of my friends and this are some of the reasons why they think people spread this kind of nonsense

1) Since forwarding an e-mail is only a click of a button, why not do it? Just in case it really comes true lah... my family is happy, my job is good. So why take the minute risk of not sending?
(Total crap if you ask me. Your life is controlled by you and not something someone sent to you via an e-mail. To follow suit just shows how naive you are in this world)

2) I send those e-mail as a means to keep in touch and to tell them I am still alive.
(If you want to keep in touch then send an email with one sentence - "Hi i am still alive, what about you?". That's way better then chain mails. If you send it often enough, your friend might wish that you're dead so he/she don't need to constantly click the DELETE button (pun intended).

3) I got a fetish of sending chain mails! I CAN'T HELP IT.
(Go play SM or something, chain mails are for kids)

On a personal note, chain mails are annoying, irritating and a waste of my energy to delete.

Next time you want to send a chain mail, think of how the receiver would feel like before you click the forward button.

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Double Whammy

As I was driving home earlier, I saw queues stretching at least a few hundred meters from the petrol station. Many of them in Kanchil, Wira and with their children inside.

The government announced an increase in fuel prices today. The price of petrol is now up 40% and diesel a whooping 64%.

On top of that electricity tariff will also be raised up to 20% for residential households and 26% for commercial outlets.

For me, this increase is painful. Painful not because I cannot afford the hike but the fact that many of the poor will suffer from the spike in oil prices. Most of the cars I saw queuing at the petrol stations are not not luxury cars but the average Proton's and Perodua's. With the price increase I will still be going on my short trip to Hat Yai. I will still be having great food there and buy gift for my friends and family but come tomorrow, many of the lower income group will have to, stop buying clothes for their child, stop visiting their parents back at the kampung because its too expensive to travel and stop all the small luxury that they may have in their daily routine.

I know a patient of mine that only earn RM600 a month. He has 5 kids that are still schooling. He lamented on the increase of rice recently. They no longer eat white rice but the cheap broken rice that are sold at the shops because most of the kids need to get new school uniforms. With the increase in oil prices, their 8 year old Wira needs approx RM100 for a full tank. That's 1/6 of his salary. How can this family possibly survive?

Even if this group of people do not have cars they will still be reeling from the knock-on effect of an increase in oil prices. Public transport may increase and for sure price of commodities will go up. Again this group of people will suffer while people like me would still be having our dinner at restaurants albeit at a more expensive rate.

Whats worse, the government plan to do off with subsidies by August (although they will give a 30 sen discount off market rate). This will see oil prices going even higher in the coming months.

*shrugs*

Friday, May 23, 2008

The Day My Friendster Turned Malay

I have not logged in Friendster for a long time, so just logged in today to see if there is anything new.

I got a surprise when I saw this....


My Friendster have turned Malay on me! I wonder why Friendster changed my settings for no odd reason.

%$&*!#^*&#%@!$&^&##@%$

Thursday, April 3, 2008

What A Load Of Crap


Read this piece of news from StarOnline and I nearly laughs my ass off.

Apparently in a 2 day seminar conducted by the Islamic Institute of Understanding Malaysia (Ikim) and the Syariah Judiciary Department Malaysia, a proposal was made to prosecute non-Muslims found committing khalwat (close proximity) with Muslims in the civil courts.

What a bunch of idiots.

Keeping their own people in check is their prerogative but to bring non-Muslims to court because they were caught with their pants down in raids? Thats a big ass joke. There is no way this can hold water at civil court. Consensual intimacy is not against the law.

Here's the full report

Thursday April 3, 2008

Proposal to prosecute non-Muslims for khalwat

By IZATUN SHARI

KUALA LUMPUR: A seminar on Syariah Law review wants non-Muslims found committing khalwat (close proximity) with Muslims to also be held liable.


This was among the proposals made at the two-day seminar organised by the Islamic Institute of Understanding Malaysia (Ikim) and the Syariah Judiciary Department Malaysia.


Syariah Court of Appeal Judge Datuk Mohd Asri Abdullah said the seminar had proposed that non-Muslims committing khalwat with Muslims should also be sentenced accordingly, but in the civil courts.


“We don’t have the jurisdiction to sentence non-Muslims committing khalwat with Muslims,” he told reporters after closing the seminar on behalf of department director-general Datuk Ibrahim Lembut at Ikim here today.


“The Muslims can be sentenced in Syariah courts, and the non-Muslim partners can probably be sentenced in the civil courts, to be fair to both parties.”


He said the proposal, contained in a draft resolution at the seminar, would be forwarded to the Attorney-General’s Chambers.


“It is up to the Attorney-General’s Chambers or the relevant authorities to decide how to create such a law,” he said.


However, he declined to elaborate when the proposal would be forwarded to the Government.


Another proposal is to impose heftier penalties – of up to four times the current penalties – on Muslims caught for khalwat, prostitution, consuming alcohol and involvement in gambling activities.


Mohd Asri said Ikim and the department were proposing that the Syariah Courts (Criminal Jurisdiction) Act 1965 (Amendment) 1984 be amended to impose stiffer penalties of RM1,000 fine, or five years’ jail or 12 strokes of the rotan for Syariah Lower Courts and RM20,000 fine, or 10 years’ jail or 24 strokes of rotan for Syariah High Courts.


Current limits are a maximum of three years’ jail, or RM5,000 fine, or up to six lashes or any combination of these, and different states provide different penalties for these offences.


“This has not been reviewed since 1984. It has been more than 20 years,” said Mohd Asri.


There was also a proposal for Syariah judges to enforce whipping for these offences.


Another proposal calls for the establishment of a rehabilitation centre for those convicted of offences related to morals and faith such as prostitution and effeminate men, and enforcement of Section 54 of the Syariah Criminal Offences Act (Act 559) to set up such centres.


The seminar also agreed to a suggestion that a new provision be created for apostates.

Monday, February 25, 2008

Good Happiness, Low Yat Plaza

I went to Low Yat today for lunch. Instead of Causeway Bay, which is the regular Hong Kong ("char charn teng" in Cantonese) style eating place that i normally frequent, I decided to give Good Happiness a try. This place is located at the ground floor of Law Yot Plaza

First impression wasn't a really good one. Simply because there wasn't many people there eating. Normally if there is a lot of patrons then it would be a sure bet that the place would be pretty good. Nevertheless I decided to go try it out anyway, there is always a first time for everything right?

I sat there for like 5 minutes and there is no one attending my table. I was like "WTF! there is not many people eating and waiters standing chatting to each other... hello? I am here to eat... pass me the god damn menu please?". After some frantic waiving finally someone came to our table with the menu.

If you think the service is the only thing that is bad, wait till I tell you the next part.

Had a look at the menu... "WTx2F!! half of the menu is full of X mark next to it. Wei... this shop is going to close shop izzit? How come half the menu is no longer available?" (No pics taken of the menu as I was already in a state of shock).

Again the waiter took his time to come take our order.

Since M and I already had lunch earlier, they only had drinks and I only ordered a Prawn Fried Rice.

Now here's another rant. The rice arrived 10 minutes before the drinks. WTx3F!!, is there any place that give food before drinks??

The food though was acceptable for my standards.

Oh noes! The service is so crap that we can't even show our faces!

So the verdict? I would not recommend anyone going there.


P.S Thanks M & I for being there when i really needed the company today. Really appreciate it lots